Committee on Consumer Affairs

Return to the Compiled Agenda

This agenda is subject to change.

Monday, July 17

Location: Harbor Island 3

1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.


Value-Added Electricity Services: New Roles for Utilities and Third-Party Providers

(Joint Meeting with Committee on Energy Resources and Environment)

New technologies enable new value-added services for consumers. Changes in technology also raise questions about the role of electric utilities and third-party providers in a modern grid. Among them:

  • What new value-added services does grid modernization enable, and what are the appropriate roles for utilities and third-party service providers? Should utilities directly compete with competitive providers of new value-added services, or provide new platforms and procurement mechanisms to enable third-party services?
  • What policy and regulatory changes may be needed in the face of increasing competition for electricity services from third-party providers?
  • How should regulators address utility costs for new value-added services, considering customers who do not participate in these offerings?
  • What policy and regulatory approaches best balance promoting innovation with consumer protection?

Panelists include authors of a new report for Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in the Future Electric Utility Regulation series, funded by the U.S. Department of Energy. The series taps leading thinkers to grapple with complex regulatory issues for electricity to inform ongoing discussion and debate.


Lisa Schwartz, Energy Efficiency Team Leader, Electricity Markets & Policy Group, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


Jon Blansfield, Senior Manager, Strategic Alliances, Institute for Electric Innovation

Ryan Katofsky, Senior Director of Industry Analysis, Advanced Energy Economy

Bob Nelson, Consumer Counsel, Montana Consumer Counsel

1:30 - 2:30 p.m.

Rural and Underserved Areas – Natural Gas Access and Expansion Initiatives

(Joint with the Committee on Gas)

In April 2017, NARUC established a new Presidential Natural Gas Access and Expansion Task Force. The taskforce leadership team will lead a roundtable discussion that will help foster information gathering for the task force’s charge to create an analytical report on natural gas in these communities that will address, among other things, analysis of current access, relevant policies, and the need for access and expansion and barriers to providing natural gas service to these areas. This roundtable will help to showcase the work that lies ahead for the taskforce.


Hon. John Coleman, Pennsylvania

Hon. Julie Fedorchak, North Dakota

Hon. Brandon Presley, Mississippi


Hon. Stephen Bloom, Oregon

Fred Hanna, Pipeline Business Line Leader (Southeast Group) and Senior Project Manager, AECOM

Kyle Rogers, Vice President – Government Relations, American Gas Association

Don Stanczak, Vice President – Regulatory Affairs, DTE Energy

Tuesday, July 18

Location: Harbor Island 1

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

This meeting will be held in Harbor Island 1.

Combating Robocalling

(Joint Session with Committee on Telecommunications)


Hon. Brandon Presley, Mississippi


Lynn Butler, Executive Director — Regulatory, AT&T

Dave Conn, Vice President, T-Mobile

Richard Shockey, Chairman of the Board, SIP Forum

Brent Struthers, Senior Policy Advisor, Neustar


4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

This meeting will be held in Harbor Island 3.

What’s the Charge to Charge? Rate Design Principles to Facilitate EV Charging

(Joint with Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment)

Managed correctly, EV charging could facilitate cost-effective grid-management services, produce significant emissions benefits, and provide an emerging source of new business opportunity for utilities. Managed incorrectly, EV charging could be more expensive and far more polluting than necessary. This panel will discuss which rate mechanism is better for commercial customers offering EV charging to their tenants or even to the general public—Time of Use rates or Demand Charges.

Moderator: Hon. Meg Curran, Rhode Island


Russell Garwacki, Director, Pricing Design and Research, Southern California Edison

Jim Lazar, Senior Advisor, Regulatory Assistance Project