press releases

Wisconsin Commissioner Ellen Nowak Appointed as Chair of NARUC Committee on International Relations

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Scott R. Bolden, 202-898-8083,

Wisconsin Commissioner Ellen Nowak Appointed as Chair of NARUC Committee on International Relations

WASHINGTON (January 24, 2020)—Commissioner Ellen Nowak of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin was appointed chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Committee on International Relations by President Brandon Presley of Mississippi.

Commissioner Nowak is replacing Chairman David Danner of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission. Commissioners Kenneth C. Hill of Tennessee and David Morton of British Columbia will remain co-vice chairs.

Established in 1996, the Committee on International Relations supports NARUC's outreach activities across the globe, including partnerships with numerous countries in Eurasia, Africa, Asia and Latin America. With the trend of energy market development expanding overseas, several countries have sought help and best practices from their American counterparts.

As NARUC’s former first vice president, Nowak served on the board of directors and the Executive Committee until March 2018, when she was appointed by Governor Scott Walker to serve as the Secretary for the Department of Administration.  She was a member of the PSC since July 2011 and became chairperson in March 2015.

In January 2019, she was appointed to the NARUC Board of Directors by then-president Nick Wagner. Nowak has served on several NARUC committees, including the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment, the Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation and was a member of the Advisory Council for New Mexico State University’s Center for Public Utilities. Moreover, she has represented NARUC before federal bodies and moderated panels at NARUC’s national meetings. She holds a law degree from Marquette University and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

“Commissioner Nowak’s legal background, along with her experience on the NARUC board of directors and other committees, bodes well for this new role,” said Presley. “Her record of serving the public interest is well-documented and will greatly benefit the committee. I would also like to thank Chairman Danner for his excellent leadership the past four years.”

“I’m thankful for the opportunity to chair the committee and continue the important work of the NARUC community around the globe,” Nowak said. “I hope to advance the great work of the committee by educating NARUC’s members and our global partners. We must continue to learn from each other about solutions to challenges and share opportunities.”

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.