press releases

Rhode Island Regulator Abigail Anthony to Chair NARUC Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis, 202-898-9382,

WASHINGTON (December 15, 2020) — Abigail Anthony, a member of the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission, was tapped by National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Paul Kjellander to chair the Committee on Resources and the Environment. Anthony replaces Commissioner Jeff Ackermann, who leaves the Colorado Public Service Commission in January.

The committee is a venue for state regulators to discuss ways to provide utility customers with environmentally sustainable and affordable energy services. It focuses on energy efficiency, environmental protection, renewable and distributed resources, consumer protection, low-income weatherization and assistance and public interest research and development.

Kjellander, who serves on the Idaho Public Utilities Commission, also appointed Commissioner Mary Throne of the Wyoming Public Service Commission as co-vice chair, joining North Carolina Commissioner Charlotte Mitchell.

Anthony was appointed by to the Rhode Island PUC in June of 2017. She served previously as the director of Acadia Center’s Grid Modernization and Utility Reform Initiative. She also served previously on the Rhode Island Energy Efficiency and Resource Management Council, which oversees the implementation of the state’s energy efficiency programs and policies. Anthony earned a PhD in environmental and natural resource economics from the University of Rhode Island and holds an MA and a BA in economics from the University of Montana.

“Commissioner Anthony will bring a host of experiences and insights to her new role as the ERE Committee chair,” said Kjellander. “She is an active member of the committee, is well respected by her colleagues and is dedicated to the mission of the committee. Likewise, Commissioners Throne and Mitchell will provide additional expertise to move the committee forward.”

“I am very pleased to assume this leadership role for ERE. As the nation continues to increase its focus on grid modernization, renewable energy and related energy efficiency programs and policies, regulators and stakeholders will increasingly need more content and facilitated discussions of these important issues,” said Anthony.

“We are grateful for the excellent, responsible leadership of Commissioner Ackermann, who has worked tirelessly to advance the committee’s efforts over the past few years and his presence and wisdom will be missed,” added Kjellander.

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues that best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC president for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.