press releases

NARUC President Kavulla Appoints North Carolina's Finley to Chair Electricity Committee

View as PDF

For Immediate Release: June 7, 2016
Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,


WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Travis Kavulla of Montana has appointed North Carolina Commissioner Edward S. Finley, Jr. to chair NARUC’s Committee on Electricity.

The Committee on Electricity develops and advances policies that promote reliable, adequate and affordable supply of electricity. Through strong collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related federal agencies, the committee also seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation and exchange of information.

Chairman Finley holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in history from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Juris Doctor from the University of North Carolina School of Law. From 1974 to 2007 he practiced law, with a focus on public utility regulation. Governor Easley appointed Finley to the Commission on January 23, 2007, to fill a term that expired on June 30, 2011. Governor Perdue reappointed him to the Commission effective July 1, 2011, for a term that expires on June 30, 2019. His term as commission chairman expires on June 30, 2017.

“I appreciate President Kavulla’s selection of me as Chair of the Electricity Committee,” said Chairman Finley. “I look forward to continuing in the leadership tradition of former Electricity Chair Susan Ackerman and her predecessors. The electric industry faces substantial challenges presently, such as how to address climate change issues and how electric markets can best serve consumers. I look forward to working with my colleagues, NARUC staff and NARUC leadership in pursuing policy positions that provide insightful direction in these challenging times.”

“Commissioner Finley and the Electricity Committee have helped inform our knowledge and advocacy on the Clean Power Plan and the ever-shifting shifting line between state and federal jurisdictions,” said President Kavulla. “Under his leadership, the committee will continue to provide invaluable perspectives on these and other challenging areas of utility regulations, such as understanding organized markets and the changing resource mix.”

President Kavulla also made appointments to NARUC’s Advisory Council to the Board of Directors of the Electric Power Research Institute. Commissioners Jack Betkoski of Connecticut, Bruce Williamson of Maine and Matt Schuerger of Minnesota will complete the terms of Susan Ackerman (Oregon), Jim Gardner (Kentucky), and Andre Porter (Ohio), respectively.

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # # #