press releases

NARUC President Announces Several Key Leadership Appointments

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis,

WASHINGTON (August 20, 2021) — The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Paul Kjellander has announced new appointments in several key roles.

First, the departure of Talina Mathews from the Kentucky Public Service Commission created several vacancies across NARUC, as she served as the co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity, represented the Association on the Electric Power Research Institute’s Board of Directors and she was an at-large member of NARUC’s Board of Directors.

“We truly appreciate all of the effort and many contributions of Commissioner Emeritus Talina Mathews,” said Kjellander, who leads the Idaho Public Utilities Commission.

Kjellander has named Commissioner Beth Trombold of the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio as the new co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity and Kentucky PSC Chairman Kent Chandler was tapped to represent NARUC on the EPRI board.

Also, Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission Chairman Gladys Brown Dutrieuille’s term leading the Committee on Critical Infrastructure has ended, which also created a vacancy. The new committee chair selected by Kjellander is New Jersey Board of Public Utilities Commissioner Dianne Solomon. Dutrieuille will continue to play a key role in NARUC leadership, as she will assume the at-large board seat vacated by Mathews.

“There were a lot of moving pieces — lots of dots to connect, but we have connected the right people to the right slots. These are all highly qualified and talented individuals who are committed to serving their states and the Association,” said Kjellander. “I also want to thank Chairman Dutrieuille for her outstanding leadership of our Committee on Critical Infrastructure. I am so pleased that she will continue to play a pivotal role in NARUC affairs as an at-large board member.”

The board consists of 20 members, plus the NARUC president, the first and second vice presidents, each past-president (who is still an active NARUC member) and the chairs of all standing committees. Board appointments are made by the NARUC president and serve four-year terms. As the supervisory body, the board oversees the Association's general and financial functions and approves resolutions that serve as the Association's policy.

NARUC's eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.