press releases

New Leadership Named to NARUC Committees

View as PDF
For Immediate Release: October 13, 2017
Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,

New Leadership Named to NARUC Committees

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President John Betkoski III and the Executive Committee have recently made new leadership appointments to several committees. 

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Chairman Asim Z. Haque was appointed to NARUC’s Executive Committee. Haque currently serves on the NARUC Board of Directors.

Commissioner Maida Coleman of the Missouri Public Service Commission is the chair of the Committee on Consumer Affairs. Michigan Public Service Commissioner Rachael Eubanks was appointed as co-vice chair of the Subcommittee on Supplier and Workforce Diversity.

Chairman Judith W. Jagdmann of the Virginia State Corporation and Commissioner Sadzi Martha Oliva of the Illinois Commerce Commission were appointed as NARUC’s representatives to the Advisory Council of the Electric Power Research Institute.

“All of these appointments are important to strengthening the cause of effective regulation,” said Betkoski. “Each commissioner is an exemplary public servant who will help us advance the interests of our members.”

Other appointments noted recently include Commissioner Sarah Hofmann of the Vermont Public Utility Commission, Mississippi Public Service Commission Chair Brandon Presley and Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities Chair Angela O’Connor to NARUC’s Board of Directors.  


NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.