press releases

New Appointments to NARUC Executive Committee, Board of Directors and Consumer Committee

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,

WASHINGTON (March 20, 2023) — The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Michael A. Caron has announced several key leadership appointments across the Association. These include new members to the Board of Directors, an addition to the Executive Committee and new leadership for the Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest.

Commissioner Kent Chandler, who chairs the Kentucky Public Service Commission, will serve on the NARUC Executive Committee, which consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, the treasurer, the executive director and two appointed members. These officers are responsible for the Association’s overall direction.

“NARUC is an immense resource and outlet for retail regulators as we endeavor to ensure America’s families have affordable and reliable utility service,’ said Chandler. “I look forward to working with the organization in this new role, and I am thankful to President Caron for the opportunity.”

For the Board of Directors, Commissioners Alice Reynolds and Charlotte Lane, who head the California Public Utilities Commission and the West Virginia Public Service Commission, respectively, were appointed. For Lane, this marks her second time serving on the board, as she was appointed previously in 1999 by the late NARUC Past President Jim Sullivan.

“I am pleased to join the NARUC Board of Directors, and I thank the members for this appointment,” said Reynolds. “NARUC is an invaluable asset for helping utility commissions improve their regulation of essential utility services. I look forward to continuing to work with NARUC members across the nation as we all strive to assure reliable and affordable utility services.” 

The board consists of 20 members, plus the NARUC president, the first and second vice presidents, each past-president (who is still an active NARUC member) and the chairs of all standing committees. Board appointments are made by the NARUC president and serve four-year terms. As the supervisory body, the board oversees the Association's general and financial functions and approves resolutions that serve as the Association's policy.

Finally, Commissioner Floyd McKissick Jr., of the North Carolina Utilities Commission was tapped to chair the Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest. He served previously as vice chair and fills the position previously held by Commissioner Odogwu (Obi) Linton of the Maryland Public Service Commission.

“It’s a privilege and honor to be selected to chair this important committee,” said McKissick. “I thank Commissioner Linton for his previous leadership, and I look forward to working collaboratively to analyze and propose policies that protect consumers and that best serve the public interest in the complex regulatory environment we face today.”

“I want to thank these commissioners for taking on these leadership roles,” said Caron. “Each one is eminently qualified to lead and support the goals of the Association. Our ability to serve our members most effectively relies on commissioners like these with the requisite experience, knowledge and vision.”    

NARUC's eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members.


NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.