press releases

NARUC Remembers Former Executive Director Chuck Gray

NARUC Remembers Former Executive Director Chuck Gray
View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,

WASHINGTON (February 22, 2023) — Members of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners were saddened to learn of the recent passing of Charles (Chuck) Gray who led the Association for 17 years.

When he retired in 2015, after 37 years of service, he noted, “I have enjoyed a rewarding career with NARUC and have had the support of an excellent staff throughout my career.”

NARUC’s current Executive Director, Greg White, offered this remembrance:

“Chuck Gray was a NARUC institution, having spent nearly four decades in service to the Association and its members. But he was so much more than that. Chuck was a dear friend to me and to countless state commissioners and NARUC staff members. He was an excellent regulatory attorney, and was also a mentor, a trusted advisor, a leader and a steadying influence in the community. On top of all that, Chuck was a consummate gentleman and an exceptional person. We will miss him terribly.”

In his opening remarks at last week’s Winter Policy Summit, President Michael A. Caron announced his passing and said, “He was an excellent leader and an even better friend. Our small corner of the world has lost someone very special. Chuck’s loved ones are in our thoughts.” Caron then called for a moment of silence.

A formal tribute in his honor will be held later in the year during the NARUC Annual Meeting in November. To read more about Chuck Gray, please see the obituary here.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.