press releases

NARUC Establishes Commission Chairs' Council to Address Needs of PUC Leaders

View as PDF
Illinois Commission Chair Carrie Zalewski Tapped to Head Council
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis, 202-898-9382,

WASHINGTON (May 19, 2021) — The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners has formally established a Commission Chairs’ Council to serve the needs of public utility commission leaders. Authorized by NARUC President Paul Kjellander of Idaho, the Council will be led by Carrie Zalewski, chair of the Illinois Commerce Commission, with co-vice chairs Jason Stanek of Maryland and Marybel Batjer of California.

As noted in its formal charter, the Commission Chairs’ Council will provide educational and career development opportunities, facilitate dialogues focused on the unique administrative responsibilities of those who manage PUCs, develop resources for negotiating interactions with state officials and help navigate these state agencies through emerging issues, such as the COVID pandemic.

“I look forward to leading this new resource group for PUC Chairs and Presidents along with my co-chairs,” said Zalewski. “Connecting and exchanging ideas amongst the Chairs’ Council will be an important and beneficial resource to our NARUC community and ensure that we are continuing to meet the needs of our commission leadership.”

“On behalf of the Executive Committee, we are pleased to provide this essential resource for members charged with leading their respective state commissions,” said Kjellander. “Along with the normal responsibilities of being a commissioner, the chairs’ duties include myriad levels of accountability and increased expectations from customers, industry and government officials. We’re looking forward to our next meeting this July.” 

The Commission Chairs’ Council is chartered for 24 months, during which time the members will convene for panel discussions and educational roundtables virtually and in-person at NARUC meetings.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.