press releases

Massachusetts Commissioner O'Connor Appointed to NARUCs Board of Directors

View as PDF
For Immediate Release: October 6, 2017
Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,
Massachusetts Commissioner O'Connor Appointed to NARUC's Board of Directors

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President John Betkoski III has appointed Commissioner Angela M. O’Connor of Massachusetts to the NARUC Board of Directors.

O’Connor was appointed by Governor Charlie Baker as the chair of the Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities in January 2015. She served previously as the executive director of TechNet, a national, bipartisan CEO-led trade association created as a bridge for the technology industry with state and federal policymakers. O’Connor was also the founding president of the New England Power Generators Association, the largest trade association in the region representing electric power generators. Also, she was the vice president of energy policy at Associated Industries of Massachusetts, representing the energy interests of AIM’s 7,600 members, including a wide range of public, legislative and regulatory activities. O’Connor is a graduate of The University of Massachusetts - Boston.

“I am pleased to welcome Chairman O’Connor to NARUC’s board. The breadth of her experience in energy policy and her ability to articulate utility issues among stakeholders, government officials and others is outstanding,” said President Betkoski. “She is an effective leader who is able to build consensus, which will help advance NARUC’s mission.”

“I am honored and excited to have the opportunity to serve as member on the NARUC Board of Directors,” said Chairman O’Connor. “NARUC has long been at the forefront of improving the quality and effectiveness of public utility regulation, and offers a unique opportunity for state regulators to come together to provide a deep knowledge base with tangible value to regulated utility commissions across the country. I look forward to participating on the NARUC Board in this leadership role and thank President Betkoski for this opportunity.” 

The NARUC Board consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, each past president who is an active member and 20 other active members representing state commissions. O’Connor’s term expires in October 2018, but she may be reappointed by NARUC’s Executive Committee.


NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.