press releases

Iowa Utilities Board Member Nick Wagner Tapped for NARUC Executive Committee

View as PDF
For Immediate Release: July 11, 2018

Contact: Eva Maciejewski, 202-898-8083,


Iowa Utilities Board Member Nick Wagner Tapped for NARUC Executive Committee

WASHINGTON—Commissioner Nick Wagner, of the Iowa Utilities Board, was appointed to the Executive Committee of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners by NARUC President John Betkoski III.

Wagner was appointed to the IUB by Governor Terry Branstad on March 24, 2013, to fill a term ending on April 30, 2019. At NARUC, he is Co-Chair of the Washington Action Program, Co-Vice Chair of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure, and a member of the Committee on Gas. He served on the NARUC Task Forces on Military Workforce Development and Natural Gas Access and Expansion and contributed to both task forces’ final reports. Wagner also serves as President of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference and Treasurer of the National Council on Electricity Policy.   

“Commissioner Wagner makes an excellent addition to NARUC’s Executive Committee,” said President Betkoski. “His experience on multiple NARUC committees, along with his extensive knowledge about energy regulation and his deep enthusiasm for NARUC’s mission, will be extremely valuable as we look for more ways to effectively engage our members.”   

“I am honored to join the NARUC Executive Committee,” said Commissioner Wagner. “I look forward to working collaboratively with President Betkoski, the members of the Executive Committee, the Board of Directors and the NARUC staff, to continue improving the effectiveness of public utility regulation at a time where the utility sector is evolving.”

Wagner was the Director of Quality Management for the ESCO Group in Marion, Iowa prior to his appointment to the IUB. He served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 2008 to 2012 as Ranking Member and Chair of the Local Government Committee, and as Vice Chair of the Appropriations Committee. Wagner served previously for four years as an at-large elected member of the Marion City Council.

Wagner earned his bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering and a master’s degree in electrical engineering, both from the University of Iowa.

The NARUC Executive Committee consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, the treasurer, the executive director and two appointed members. These officers are responsible for the organization’s overall direction.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.