press releases

Idaho Commissioner Kjellander Appointed as Chair of NARUC Committee on Telecommunications

View as PDF

For Immediate Release: February 3, 2017 

Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382,


Idaho Commissioner Kjellander Appointed as Chair of NARUC Committee on Telecommunications

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Robert F. Powelson has appointed Idaho Public Utilities Commissioner Paul Kjellander as Chair of the Association’s Committee on Telecommunications. He succeeds former chair, Chris Nelson, of the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission.

Kjellander previously served on the Idaho PUC from January 1999 until October 2007, when he was appointed by Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter to lead Idaho’s newly created Office of Energy Resources. During his tenure at OER, Kjellander created an aggressive energy efficiency program funded through the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. He was also elected to serve as a board member on the National Association of State Energy Officials. In April 2011, he was reappointed by Governor Otter to the Idaho PUC for a six-year term, where he serves as the president.

At NARUC, Kjellander has served as vice chair of the Committee on Telecommunications and as a member of the Committee on Consumer Affairs and the Electricity Committee. He is also a member of the Federal Communications Commission’s 706 Joint Board and is NARUC’s representative to the North American Numbering Council, as well as an at-large member of the National Council on Electricity Policy.

“Commissioner Kjellander is an ideal choice to head the Committee on Telecommunications,” said NARUC President Powelson. “His previous experience on the committee will ensure a seamless transition from the excellent leadership of Commissioner Nelson. The activity of Commissioner Kjellander on the federal level will be instrumental in making our state voices heard on many key telecommunications policy issues.”

“I am honored to be appointed to this role by President Powelson,” said Kjellander.  “Our states are facing critical policy matters, and although there may be changes at the federal level, we must maintain a strong, consistent voice on current and future issues. I am pleased that Commissioner Nelson will continue to serve on the committee alongside other members of this great team.”

Kjellander holds undergraduate degrees from Muskingum College, Ohio (now University), in communications, psychology and art. He has a master’s degree in telecommunications from Ohio University.

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.


NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.