press releases

Connecticut Regulator Michael Caron Tapped for NARUC Executive Committee

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis,

WASHINGTON (August 5, 2020) — Commissioner Michael Caron, of the Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority, has been appointed to the Executive Committee for the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners by President, Brandon Presley.  He will fill a vacancy from outgoing member Commissioner Sarah Hofmann, whose term at the Vermont Public Utility Commission expires in the near future.

Caron was appointed to PURA by Governor Dannel P. Malloy July 12, 2012, and was confirmed in 2013. His service includes the PURA’s Chairman’s designee on the Connecticut Siting Council, where he served from 2012 to 2016 and he was PURA's representative to the Connecticut Economic Resource Center, the New England Council of Public Utility Commissioners (treasurer) and NARUC’s Committees on Critical Infrastructure and Telecommunications and he served previously on the NARUC Telecommunications Task Force. He was one of Connecticut's representatives on the Eastern Interconnection States' Planning Council. Caron served previously in the Connecticut General Assembly’s House of Representatives, where he was a member of the Energy and Technology Committee and was an ex officio member of the Connecticut State Bond Commission.

Caron actively engages with community organizations and has been on the board of directors for several economic and health care organizations. He holds a B.A. in history and a B.S. in finance from Central Connecticut State University.

“It is a great honor to serve in a leadership position for NARUC, where I can continue to work with my peers to address important energy and utility issues facing our communities,” said Caron.

“We are very pleased to have Commissioner Caron join the Executive Committee, as he comes at a time when every regulator is facing serious challenges in their home states during the pandemic,” said NARUC President Presley. “Also, on behalf of the Association, we thank Commissioner Hofmann for her exemplary service on the Executive Committee. We look forward to continuing to work with her on the board as she completes her term on the Vermont PUC.”

NARUC’s Executive Committee consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, the treasurer, the executive director and two appointed members. These officers are responsible for the overall direction of the Association.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.