PDF Icon

For Immediate Release: May 6, 2014
Contact: Robert J. Thormeyer, 202-898-9382, rthormeyer@naruc.org

Honorable Appoints Jacobs, Goltz as Co-Vice Chairs of Electricity Committee

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Colette D. Honorable of Arkansas named two new Co-Vice Chairs of the Association’s Committee on Electricity.

President Honorable tapped Commissioners Libby Jacobs of Iowa and Jeff Goltz of Washington, both of whom will begin their terms immediately. The new Co-Vice Chairs will serve alongside Committee Chair David Boyd of Minnesota. Co-Vice Chair Ed Finley of North Carolina will also remain in his capacity.

The Electricity Committee develops and advances policies that promote reliable, adequate, and affordable supply of electricity. Through strong collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related Federal agencies, the Committee also seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation, and exchange of information.

“With the utility industry on the cusp of profound change, we must equip our regulators with the right information and data to make the best decisions,” President Honorable said. “The Committee on Electricity plays a crucial role in providing State utility commissioners with best practices and the latest trends from across the country. I commend Commissioners Jacobs and Goltz for stepping up at this critical juncture. Along with Chairman Boyd and Co-Vice Chair Finley, this team will serve commissioners and ratepayers well. I am grateful for their important volunteer efforts.”
“My thanks to President Honorable for appointing Commissioners Jacobs and Goltz,” said Committee Chair Boyd. “New technologies and federal regulations are dramatically changing this industry. Thanks to the pioneering efforts of our States, our nation is well on its way to a cleaner and more efficient future. Yet we must remember that each State has its own unique challenges and circumstances. Our committee is ready to put the right data and lessons learned into the hands of our members.”

Commissioner Jacobs was appointed chair of the Iowa Utilities Board in May 2011. Within NARUC, she has served on the Committee on Electricity and its Nuclear Issues Subcommittee-Waste Disposal. In addition, she is a member of the Association’s Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation. Prior to joining the Iowa Utilities Board, Jacobs was president of The Jacobs Group, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in strategic planning, board development, community outreach, and fund development. She also served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1994 to 2008.

Commissioner Goltz was appointed to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission by Gov. Chris Gregoire in February 2009. He served as chairman until February 2013. Within NARUC he has served on the Committees on Electricity and Consumer Affairs. Before coming to the commission, Goltz practiced law for 34 years, 30 of which were in the Washington Attorney General’s Office (AGO), most recently as one of four supervising deputy attorneys general. In addition, he served as head of the AGO’s Utilities and Transportation Division for 11 years, serving as chief counsel to the commission; as head of the Ecology Division; and as an assistant attorney general both in the Ecology and Revenue Divisions.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # # #