PDF Icon

For Immediate Release: May 6, 2014
Contact: Robert J. Thormeyer, 202-898-9382, rthormeyer@naruc.org

N.D.'s Fedorchak, N.C.'s Rabon Tapped as Co-Vice Chairs of Committee on Gas

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Colette D. Honorable of Arkansas appointed two new Co-Vice Chairs to the Association’s Committee on Gas.

Commissioners Susan Rabon of North Carolina and Julie Fedorchak of North Dakota will begin their terms effective immediately. The Co-Vice Chairs will serve with Committee on Gas Chair Barry Smitherman of Texas. Former Co-Vice Chair Paul Roberti of Rhode Island will continue in his capacity as Chair of the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety.

Through panel discussions and educational sessions, the Gas Committee fosters awareness and understanding of issues affecting the transportation, distribution, and sale of natural gas safely, efficiently, and economically. Committee members work closely with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and the U.S. departments of Energy and Transportation.
“I am grateful that Commissioners Rabon and Fedorchak are stepping up to serve their fellow regulators,” President Honorable said. “The industry is undergoing revolutionary changes with the growth of shale gas and the expected transition from coal-to-gas fired power plants. Regulators must make sure we have as much information as possible about these issues so we can make well-informed decisions that serve the public interest. I am also pleased that Commissioner Roberti will continue his strong leadership of our Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety, particularly with NARUC's focus on pipeline safety this year. Chair Smitherman has a great team and I look forward to working with them. This group will equip our members with the right tools to lead our nation forward.”

“My thanks to former Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Chairman Todd Snitchler for his fine service as a Co-Vice-Chair of this Committee,” said Committee Chair Smitherman. “In addition, I’d like to thank Commissioner Roberti, who will now focus even more intently on the critical issue of pipeline safety. Commissioners Rabon and Fedorchak will hit the ground running. This is a tremendous time to be involved with the gas sector. We have much on our plate, particularly as the use of gas increases in the coming years. What can we do to make sure the pipeline capacity is able to meet this demand? What kinds of electricity and gas interdependency concerns will we face? What can we do to incent the addition and enhancement of gas utility infrastructure? These are just a few of the issues we will tackle.”

Commissioner Rabon was appointed to the North Carolina Utilities Commission by Governor Mike Easley in January 2009. She has been a member of the Committee on Gas, the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety, and NARUC’s Washington Action Program since joining the Association. Prior to her NCUC appointment, Commissioner Rabon served in the North Carolina’s governor’s office as Senior Assistant for Administration and served as one of the governor's top three advisors where she oversaw the day-to-day operations of the office. She provided advice to the governor in many areas but particularly budget, personnel and technology.

Commissioner Fedorchak was appointed to the North Dakota Public Service Commission in December 2012. Within NARUC she is a member of the Association’s Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety. Before joining the PSC, Commissioner Fedorchak served as State Director of Sen. John Hoeven’s State operations. She has also run her own marketing and communications business and served as Communications Director under former North Dakota Gov. Ed Schafer.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # # #