PDF Icon

For Immediate Release: November 18, 2013
Contact: Robert J. Thormeyer, 202-898-9382, rthormeyer@naruc.org

Former Colorado PUC Chair Binz Wins ERE's Kilmarx Award

ORLANDO—A group of State regulatory commissioners honored former Colorado Public Utilities Commission Chair Ron Binz with a prestigious award recognizing his contributions to promoting strong regulation and clean energy.

At the 125th Annual National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Meeting here, the Association’s Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment presented former Commissioner Binz with the Mary Kilmarx Award. The award, given annually by the ERE Committee, is presented to those whose work reflects the Committee’s goals of promoting good government, clean energy and the environment.

First awarded in 2002, the honor is named for Mary Kilmarx, a former commissioner and staff member at the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission. Ms. Kilmarx served as staff co-chair of the ERE Committee when it was called the Energy Conservation Committee and provided its members with inspiration for many years.

Mr. Binz chaired the Colorado PUC from January 2007-April 2011. During that time he also chaired NARUC’s Task Force on Climate Policy from August 2010 through his departure from regulation. He spearheaded NARUC’s initial educational efforts Environmental Protection Agency rulemakings and other renewable energy and carbon policies.

“On behalf of the ERE Committee, I am honored to present this award to Ron Binz,” said ERE Committee Chair Robert Kenney of Missouri. “Ron was instrumental in providing NARUC members with information on potential greenhouse-gas regulations. He has also set forth innovative thoughts on regulatory reform, teeing up important issues for State regulators to consider.”

Both prior to joining and leaving the Colorado PUC, Mr. Binz was president of Public Policy Consulting, specializing in policy and regulatory issues in the telecommunications and energy industries. His clients include consumer groups, State agencies telecommunications carriers and business associations. He also directed the Colorado Office of Consumer Counsel from 1984-1995, the State's utility consumer advocate. His office represented residential, small business and agricultural utility consumers before the Colorado Public Utilities Commission, federal regulatory agencies and the courts.

Within NARUC, Mr. Binz served on the ERE and International Relations committees. He is also a former President of the Western Conference of Public Service Commissioners.

Past winners of the Mary Kilmarx Award are: Commissioner Jeanne Fox of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities; Former District of Columbia Public Service Commission member Rick Morgan; Former California Public Utilities Commission member Dian Grueneich; Regulatory Assistance Project Director and Principal Richard Sedano; Former Vermont Public Service Board Chairmen Michael Dworkin and Richard Cowart; Former Montana Public Service Commission member Bob Anderson; Department of Energy Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency Kathleen Hogan; Former Maine Public Utilities Commission member Cheryl Harrington; Natural Resources Defense Council Senior Attorney Ralph Cavanagh; and Executive Director of the Southwest Energy Efficiency Project Howard Geller.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # # #