PDF Icon

For Immediate Release: May 15, 2009
Contact: Robert J. Thormeyer, 202-898-9382, rthormeyer@naruc.org

Butler Slots Four Commissioners for NARUC Board

WASHINGTON—National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Frederick Butler of New Jersey appointed four new State commissioners to the Association's Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors performs critical oversight and sets official Association policy by approving resolutions passed by NARUC membership. Board members oversee NARUC's finances and help prepare programs and agendas for the Association's several meetings and conferences held each year.

Board members serve four-year terms and are appointed by the NARUC President. Members can be reappointed as well.

The new Board members are:

• Commissioner David Armstrong of Kentucky;
• Commissioner Thomas B. Getz of New Hampshire;
• Commissioner Kevin D. Gunn of Missouri; and,
• Commissioner Douglas R.M. Nazarian of Maryland.

"Commissioners Armstrong, Getz, Gunn, and Nazarian are stepping up to serve NARUC at a critical time," said President Butler. "The Board provides the leadership foundation for ensuring that the Association is meeting our members needs, and I look forward to working with my colleagues at this level."

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

# # # #